Match Centre - March 9, 2019 - 11:00 am

Under 14 League- East 

Banbridge RFCBanbridge RFC U14s
Armagh RFC

@ Rifle Park

Match Details

BANN U-14s   26      ARMAGH U-14s   10


Bann’s Under-14s produced another outstanding performance in beating a fancied Armagh side in the semi-final of the Ulster LeaguePlay-Offs.

The visitors arrived boasting an unbeaten record in South section of the Ulster League with 15 wins and a draw from 16 games. And they proved to be a hard-working, tough-tackling outfit, with Bann having to produce their best rugby of the season to get the win.

Tries from Jamie Carville (3) and one from Captain Scott Craig along with three conversions from Denis Kerr put the seal on a famous victory.

Bann coach Noel Irwin said that he was proud of his team’s display. “The forwards’ rucking , lineout play and scrummaging was excellent today,” he said after the game.  “The backs showing plenty of inventiveness in attack coupled with a strong defence. We can now look forward to a final against Carrick on the 23rd March. It promises to be quite a match.”


This backed up a fine showing the previous Saturday when for the quarter-final Bann travelled to Ballymena, a team boasting the same record as Armagh in the North section of the League, and out-played them in a 0-27 win.


In the final Bann will face a Carrick side that has beaten them twice this season. The absence of key players through injury saw Bann suffer a 65-14 defeat when the teams met in September but in the return match played at Rifle Park three months later that deficit had been cut to 10-14. Given the steady improvement shown by the team over the season and boosted by those wins over the hitherto unbeaten Ballymena and Armagh side, Bann will not lack confidence going into the final.


Squad : Jacob Henry, Andrew Cairns, Thomas McGrath, Emmett Magill, Pearce Magill, Rhys Smith, Rian Evans, Scott Craig (Capt), Todd Bryson, Ethan Dickson, Jamie Carville, Isaac Finch, Callum Fitzgerald, Conor Corrigan, William McAllen, Ross McKee, Ben Doyle, Callum Toal and Tom Ewart.